Old 03-07-2008, 12:38 PM
Serf

Question Building Code Approval and Engineering

Hi All,

I am a newbie to the forum, but I have just completed a double door 48" oven, and after the fact my building dept. is requesting engineering.

Has anyone has to address engineering before for an oven that is in the exterior wall of a house? Any advice? Specs? Calcs? Etc?

Thanks,
Andy
Hood River, OR
Old 03-07-2008, 01:56 PM

Default Re: Building Code Approval and Engineering

If you are trying to get building approval after the fact, you are heading uphill. Generally speaking, if it is part of the house, you need a building permit sooner rather than later.

Here's how building code works. Building code is a collection of best practices, so you don't have to get structural engineering work done on routine jobs. In theory, anything that falls outside of the UBC needs to be run by a structural engineer, to protect all concerned. If done in advance, many building code officers can be convinced that a wood fired oven is a kitchen fireplace, and can be built under the existing code for masonry fireplaces. This is still worth a try.

The last time I had to hire a structural engineer on a project (to determine floor loads for a machine tool) it was MAJOR money. Good luck.
Old 03-08-2008, 12:29 AM
Journeyman

[QUOTE=dmun;25956]

<snip>

If done in advance, many building code officers can be convinced that a wood fired oven is a kitchen fireplace, and can be built under the existing code for masonry fireplaces. This is still worth a try.

<snip>

In Oz, we have the ubiquitous barbeque, for which in many local government areas NO prior approval is needed!

In my case, I went to my council to ascertain their policy on BBQs, which in essence said that if it's no closer to a neighbour's fence than 3m and no higher than 1.8m, no approval is needed.

Hence, we've broiled many a juicy lamb chop in our WFO, a.k.a. a stone covered BBQ...

Cheers,

LMH
Old 03-08-2008, 02:20 PM
Laborer