Old 02-09-2008, 07:34 PM
Serf

Default 4 courses up... and a big question

I'm having a "sinking spell" and need some advice asap.

As the title says, I've got 4 courses up on a 36" oven and it is looking great. This is my first attempt to lay brick and am coming on up the learning curve...but I'm feeling pretty stupid at the moment. Somewhere along in the third course I started noticing gaps between the bricks (the invented "V" so...I started buttering the side of each brick with Heat Stop in addition to the bottom before setting it.

Now showered and tired after a full day of laying brick I've been thinking about those cracks. So I go out and set a light in the center of the oven and, dang it, I can see the light shining through those cracks between some of the bricks.

My question...is this a problem...meaning I have to tear it all out and start over or will the insulation coating render my problem...not a problem at all?
Old 02-09-2008, 07:36 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

Default Re: 4 courses up... and a big question

Throw Deep,

Can you post some pictures for us to look at?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Updated!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Old 02-09-2008, 08:48 PM
Master Builder

Definitely post some pictures...there very likely is a workable solution other than tear down...Dutch
Old 02-10-2008, 10:28 AM
Serf

I'm not sure if this link gets you to pictures but I think it will. Thank you for your help.

Bob

Picasa Web Albums - Robert - Pizza oven
Old 02-10-2008, 10:43 AM
Il Pizzaiolo