Old 10-31-2013, 08:47 AM
Serf

Default What temperature should my oven floor be?

Hi, I just built my oven last week and have been firing it everyday since. Last night was the first night I actually cooked in it. I tried to make a pizza and it ended up taking about 20 mins to cook. The floor temp was around 340.

I am using the Giardino70 and on the instructions it says it takes 20 mins to get to temperature. I have a fire going for about an hour and half before I tried to make a pizza.

Questions?
#1. What oven floor temp do you cook your pizza at?
#2. How long does it take to get to that temp?

Thanks for you input !!!
Old 11-01-2013, 10:07 PM
Serf

Default Re: What temperature should my oven floor be?

I'm still new to this whole wood-fired thing, but I'll take a shot at answering your questions. I get our ovens floor temp to the mid to upper 700's. Your 340 isn't hot enough unless your talking Celsius and you'd still be a bit low then.
Two issues could be happening here, and if someone with a bit more knowledge thinks otherwise please chime in. You may need to fire your oven longer to get the heat saturation level up. Sounds weird, but you really need to pack the heat in.

If your oven however has little or poor insulation then you may struggle to reach the high temps. Firing for 1 and half hours sounds like a long time, but if you have a larger oven (mines a primavera 60 so it heats quickly) it may require you fire for several hours to reach the higher temps. Hope this helps, good luck.

m
Old 11-02-2013, 04:56 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

A good temperature balance between the dome temp and floor is what you are looking for. A general range would be 75*-125* difference, with the floor having the lower temp between the two surfaces.