#1  
Old 06-01-2006, 12:50 PM
CanuckJim's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Prince Albert, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,480
Default SP5 Performance

James, et al,

A very quick update on the SP5 spiral mixer I bought recently. Blew my brains out at a launch party I held, baking boule, baguettes, foccaccia, etc., etc., for nearly 100 people. Should have kept the menu less complicated, but that's my way. Anyhow, the SP5 didn't miss a beat; it just sits there and works, and works, and works. Doesn't jump around on the counter. Doesn't heat up the dough. Because of the way my formulas work, I only had it up to six pounds of flour at a time, not the eight it will handle. Not a groan. This is one serious, professional, bulletproof piece of gear. I'll update further as time goes on. Baking 18 1 kilo boule and a bunch of other stuff next week; then on to the 150 kaiser roll order. These will really tell the tale of the SP5.

Also bought "The Original Super-Fast Thermapen 5 Thermometer," through King Arthur's Baker's Catalogue. It's manufactured in England and imported by ThermoWorks, Alpine, Utah, www.thermoworks.com. It will read from -58 F to +572 F. This thing reads the interior temp of bread in about two seconds flat, as opposed to the half and hour or so for the cheapo hardware store "instant read" I had before it hit the garbage can.

Weird thing is the calibration record was authorized by one "John Carswell" in England. My 1856 frame house was originally built for a watchmaker and silversmith by the name of John Carswell. Wait, "Do not adjust your set. Welcome to the twilight zone." Old John's buried right up the road from the house, so I guess he decided it was time to stop in for a visit. How weird is that?

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2006, 02:11 PM
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bartonvile, TX
Posts: 105
Default

What would be really weird is if you could go up the road with your "Original Super-Fast Thermapen 5 Thermometer" and take old John's tempurature!

By the way, I'm not encouraged by your mixer review Jim. How will I ever buy it pennies the dollar when you are so enamored with it? Couple that with the latest value of the Canadian and I'm even more discouraged!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-2006, 02:54 PM
CanuckJim's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Prince Albert, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,480
Default Pennies to the Dollar

Stuart,

Old John? Just about to look for my shovel. Sorry, bud, eat yer heart out on the SP5. You'll just have to talk to Richard at TMB about that severe lack in your life. Tell the wife to wrap one up for you. She can have my KA600 for free.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-01-2006, 04:36 PM
dmun's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 4,216
Default sp5

I assume we're talking about this:

http://www.avancinispa.it/default.asp?*p=86&fId=22

I'm a little concerned about euro-motors in the US market. In the machine tool trade, they never really get it right, and the motors have a tendency to overheat and underpower. Is your motor straining and heating?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-09-2006, 03:29 AM
CanuckJim's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Prince Albert, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,480
Default Motors

Dmun,

This is just a further update on the SP5. To answer your question, I used the SP5 all day yesterday to make 20 one kilo boule of different sorts and a double batch of pain a l'ancienne dough. The motor did not strain, heat up or miss a beat working with six pounds of flour at a time (8 pounds is max). There is only a minor and normal chain drive sound. This is exactly my experience with Italian woodworking equipment. Not sure where your experience is, but I've never had a problem with European equipment, except for that **xx!!! Triumph TR6 I bought in a dazed moment. Clutches by the dozen.

The SP5 is just what an appliance should be: mute, efficient and just a small part of bread making. Unlike the KA 600, now I just set my timer and walk away. Very pleased with it is an understatement.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-09-2006, 08:47 AM
dmun's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 4,216
Default thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanuckJim
Dmun,
Not sure where your experience is, but I've never had a problem with European equipment, except for that **xx!!! Triumph TR6 I bought in a dazed moment. Clutches by the dozen.

Jim
Thanks for your comment. The machine tool motors that are problematic are all three phase, perhaps to work on north-american voltage single phase current, the motors have to be completely re-engineered (or locally sourced)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-10-2006, 05:59 AM
CanuckJim's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Prince Albert, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,480
Default Three-phase

Dmun,

Ah, now I understand. Three-phase, 220 volt systems do not travel well from Europe to here. Had a similar experience with printing presses from Switzerland. Then again, let me tell you sometime about trying to get a North American hair dryer to work in England, with a xx!!@@, so-called English plug. Not good, fried wire.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-10-2006, 10:14 AM
james's Avatar
Brick Oven Merchant
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Pebble Beach, CA
Posts: 4,648
Default

Dave,
I am thinking about the SP5. Can you elaborate on the challenges of converting 220V motors, phases, etc. The "Idiot's Guide" guide to small industrial motors. I would like to learn more on the topic in general.

Thanks!
James
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-10-2006, 11:54 AM
dmun's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 4,216
Default Three phase

Alternating current is commonly understood to change polarity from positive to negative sixty times per second. It is important to understand that instead of switching from positive to negative directly, it changes in a wave form. You may know that the 220 current coming into your house is a combination of two 110 volt lines. What you may not know is that the two legs are sixty degrees out of phase, and that they form two of the three legs of three phase current.

Three phase current can be supplied directly by the power company. I have it on the pole right across the street from my house. Usually the utility won't sell it to you unless you are a major commercial user, and the connection costs big bucks. Here's what it looks like:



from wikipedia article

Home users of three phase usually have to manufacture their own third phase. The best way to do this is with a rotary converter, a little generator that manufactures three phase. They are expensive, and noisy. There are also solid state converters, which basically fool the motor into thinking it has the third phase, and the motors run at two-thirds power, and don't have neat features like instant reversing.

Three phase motors have a slight edge on efficiency over single phase motors. They are also slightly easier to make, since they don't need a commutator start mechanism, that lump you see on top of electric motors. These advantages would be completely theoretical except for the way commercial electricity is metered. The demand meter measures your peak usage in any given month, and you are billed as if you had used that much electricity 24 hours a day. Ever wondered why skyscrapers keep their lights on all night? They wouldn't save any money by turning them off. Since three phase motors don't need a jolt of electricity to start them, they keep those usage jumps down.

For home use, it's much better if you can buy dedicated single phase equipment. For just one mixer, like a Hobart commercial mixer, it's just not worth the trouble of three phase wiring. I run a little machine shop, so that's a completely different story.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-11-2006, 09:01 AM
CanuckJim's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Prince Albert, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,480
Default Three phase

James, Dmun,

I may have misdirected you guys. The SP5 is not a three-phase set up. It's straight 110 household, and no modifications of any kind are needed. Just plug and knead.

Jim
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC