Old 01-04-2011, 09:04 AM
Apprentice

Default Burnt crusts

The wife says that most of my crusts are burnt tasting. We are using bread flour currently, or purchased doughs from whole foods. My guess is that perhaps only Italian 00 flour can be cooked at 725, but that is a guess, as I have never used that flour. I have been cooking at 725, roughly. The top looks done, and peeking at the bottom looks somewhat like a spotted leopard.

The wife wants to boycott the pizza till I promise not to burn any more crusts. I tried to get away with ""But honey, I'm still learning to use the oven", but she won't hear of it. I think she wants me to cook at a wimpy 625.

Any advice?
Old 01-04-2011, 09:33 AM
Laborer

Default Re: Burnt crusts

It is my understanding that the "spotted leopard" look is a much prized attribute to the wfo cooked pizza. It is certainly something I strive to achieve. I even try to get a bit burnt on the toppigs as well, but that is just my taste.

I use 00 flour and it burns as well. Maybe try moving your pizza around more often. Once the steam stops, move it to a cooler area of your oven. OR using your peel lift the pie off the floor altogether.
Old 01-04-2011, 09:44 AM

The easy fix for people who don't like a bit of charring is to cook their pizza right up front, by the door. Nothing you ever do will make it taste like something from a deck oven, but you can keep the leopard spot charring to a minimum.

If it's not just the look, but the taste, it may be another issue, like burning cornmeal or bench flour.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 01-04-2011, 10:17 AM
Il Pizzaiolo

Nah, you are just burning them. I use bread flour in the oven at 700+, and no burning. This was the first done at well over 800 on the floor.
Attached Thumbnails
Burnt crusts-120810pizza8.jpg  
Old 01-04-2011, 10:41 AM
Apprentice