Old 12-31-2011, 11:03 AM
Serf

Default Trouble firing up my 42 inch Pompeii oven

I can't seem to get the oven hot enough. Once I did, but it took six hours. How long does it take y'all to heat it? What do you use besides wood? I read about propane torch. Will get one of those. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Happy New Year!
Old 01-03-2012, 04:49 PM
Journeyman

Default Re: Trouble firing up my 42 inch Pompeii oven

Susan,

I am usually good to go after 90 minutes or so (though I prefer 2 hours. Could you post some pics (of your oven that is). Also, is your oven wet? I am wondering about your insulation layer underneath and over the dome.

As for firing my oven, here is a picture from the other day.

Note: I am a trained professional. If you try this at home, it is on your own risk of severe burns, explosion(s) or mortal death. Don't say I did not warn you!
Attached Thumbnails
Trouble firing up my 42 inch Pompeii oven-100_1376.jpg  

Follow my build
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 01-03-2012, 05:32 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

Quote:
Originally Posted by SusanRHall View Post
I can't seem to get the oven hot enough. Once I did, but it took six hours. How long does it take y'all to heat it? What do you use besides wood? I read about propane torch. Will get one of those. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Happy New Year!
Susan, I am probably not one of the many people on this site who can help you, but if you can maybe include a little more info: how the 42 is constructed, where, insulation, weather/waterproofing, and even better a few pics, Im am sure there are plenty of folks who can get together and figure out why it is taking "6 hours" to bring your oven up to temp.

PS, I think that C5dad covered it all: Its just that I Can't resist responding to someone who uses y'all in the written form even though in Mississippi it is ya'll