#1  
Old 11-21-2007, 03:21 PM
Serf
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 20
Default can coal be used?

Hello again,

Have been busy for quite some time now. The weather here in Buffalo just turned pretty cold and damp. I am wondering if a fire can be made using coal in place of wood? Please let me know if this is possible, I don't want to day any damage.

Thanks,
Rob
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-21-2007, 05:03 PM
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SC usa
Posts: 126
Default Re: can coal be used?

It'll burn...but, we've done environmental sampling around old coal piles. The variety and levels of heavy metals that comes out of coal are simply mind-blogging. Such really nasty stuff as arsenic, selenium, cadmium, vanadium, and chromium, depending on where the coal comes from. Some of these are outright poisons or cause fetal development problems. You would not want those in your cooking fire because some of the metals will be deposited in your food and it takes just low levels to become a health problem (for same reason that pressure treated wood should not be burned.... the metals come out and end up it the diet).
__________________
Paradise is where you make it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2007, 07:18 PM
dmun's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 4,216
Default Re: can coal be used?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvdukes View Post
It'll burn...but, we've done environmental sampling around old coal piles. The variety and levels of heavy metals that comes out of coal are simply mind-blogging. Such really nasty stuff as arsenic, selenium, cadmium, vanadium, and chromium, depending on where the coal comes from.
We get the coal question every few months, because of the romance of a few places in Brooklyn and environs that make pizza in coal fired bread ovens. This is the first sensible answer that I've seen. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2007, 08:32 PM
oventhusiast's Avatar
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Boston (area), Ma. USA
Posts: 137
Default Re: can coal be used?

Oh Wow!
Glad I saw these posts. A new pizza place just opened up here on US rt. 1 N.
It's a coal fired pizza and chicken wing restaurant. I went it there one morning before they opened for business and asked to go behind the counter to see the ovens up close. They were from a company in CA but I forget the name. The ovens were built for coal because the cooks there told me that there was an air supply grate under the coals in the floor. (Inside the dome on the left side of the oven.) My wife and I were about to try it out soon. It's a really nice 'tuscan looking' place. But after reading about burning coal,........'Fugeddaboudit'!
Thanx', I'll stick to our wood fired oven!
Happy thanksgiving to all who celebrate and well wishes to those who do not!
Rick
__________________
View my pictures at, Picasaweb.google.com/xharleyguy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-25-2007, 01:37 PM
Ken524's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,649
Default Re: can coal be used?

Interesting!

I eat at this place about every month when I'm in downtown Philly:
Pietro's Coal Oven Pizzeria
Pietro's Pizza: Coal Oven Pizzeria

I wonder if the coal fired commercial ovens somehow keep the exhaust separate from the heat and pizza??
__________________
Ken H. - Kentucky
42" Pompeii


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Updated!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
...
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Ken524; 11-25-2007 at 01:38 PM. Reason: edited link
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-25-2007, 02:16 PM
CanuckJim's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Prince Albert, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,479
Default Re: can coal be used?

Guys,

Coal fired ovens, particularly those in NYC and Philly, were and are white ovens. The fire is not built in the baking chamber, but rather below it, and the exhaust gasses are vented separately. You shouldn't use coal in a fire in the oven setup, but hard coal (anthracite) has been used for a very long time in white ovens. Anthracite coal has many fewer emissions (none of them good) than does bituminous (soft coal). Soft coal was responsible for the famous London fogs of yesteryear.

Jim
__________________
"Made are tools, and born are hands"--William Blake, 1757-1827
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-23-2007, 02:07 PM
Neil2's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: can coal be used?

My granny cooked with coal, and lived into her 90's.


I cook with it now and then. We have a low-sulfer coal available locally.

(I'm feeling OK so far)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Coal Fired Brick Oven Construction Mongo Commercial Pizza Ovens 20 07-07-2012 09:41 AM
What About Coal? Mongo Firing Your Oven 6 12-10-2006 07:34 PM
Anyone use Anthracite coal at home? Amishcountry Newbie Forum 2 11-17-2006 10:06 PM
Modern coal oven Yahoo-Archive Firing Your Oven 4 11-06-2006 12:33 AM
Coal Vines - Dallas jjerrier Brick Oven Restaurant Reviews 5 07-28-2006 02:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC