#1  
Old 05-07-2013, 01:19 PM
Serf
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: waco texas
Posts: 23
Default hobart mixing speed

I have been using a KA 600 mixer to make the pizza dough recipe in the downloadable book. It works fine for it. I tried double batches and it gets hot and turns off. KA said not to mix over 3 or so minutes so since the recipe says mix on speed 3-4 for 6-7 minutes it will not work for me any more.

I bought a Hobart 20 or 30 quart (not sure which ) used. It has three speeds. I plan on making large batches and freezing some of the dough for later. Can anyone help with the speed I need to mix at and the time?

Thanks Lane
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-08-2013, 12:36 AM
brickie in oz's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Whittlesea
Posts: 3,455
Default Re: hobart mixing speed

Quote:
Originally Posted by lane View Post
help with the speed I need to mix at and the time?
The slowest speed and mix until all the ingredients are combined, I dont over mix the dough.
__________________
The English language was invented by people who couldnt spell.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-08-2013, 04:19 AM
nissanneill's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 1,877
Thumbs up Re: hobart mixing speed

Hi Lane,
I have a Hobart 20 quart mixer and I mix my batches on #1, the slowest speed until the dough works it's way up the spiral hook, scrape it off and re-introduce the hook and remove when it works it's way up again and doesn't mix.
See:

http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f35/...xers-9445.html (Mixers and more mixers)


for the mixer which might be a different colour to yours as I repaired and repainted it.

Cheers.

Neill
__________________
Prevention is better than cure, - do it right the first time!

The more I learn, the more I realise how little I know


Neillís Pompeiii #1

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Neillís kitchen underway

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2013, 11:06 AM
Serf
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: waco texas
Posts: 23
Default Re: hobart mixing speed

Thanks for the help. I did a batch with 2000g flour. I think I could have doubled that easy, in this mixer.

I mixed on 1st speed. Im not a cook so am not good about judging when the dough is done, by when it is climbing the hook. I went ahead and just did it the same 7 minutes I used for the KA mixer.

I will try cooking tomorrow to see if it worked ok. Although it looks like rain now so may have to leave in fridge an extra day or two then try.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2013, 07:40 PM
nissanneill's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 1,877
Thumbs up Re: hobart mixing speed

Yes, when the dough climbs the hook it just slaps against the bowl sides. I have never had a problem with stopping the mix once that repeats.
My last mix was 2.5kg flour and the Hobart could have handled tripple that quantity. It almost seems a shame to use it for such small mixes but is a lot easier than hand mixing.
Goof luck.

Neill
__________________
Prevention is better than cure, - do it right the first time!

The more I learn, the more I realise how little I know


Neillís Pompeiii #1

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Neillís kitchen underway

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-17-2013, 10:46 AM
Serf
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: waco texas
Posts: 23
Default Re: hobart mixing speed

Has anyone done a real large batch in the larger hobart. I found a couple recipies for large batches.

http://woodstone-corp.com/napoletana_pizza_dough.htm\

or

North American Napoletana Pizza Dough | Wood Stone

The fresh yeast throws me. If my research is right I would only use 7 grams of instant yeast instead? If I just take the usual forno bravo recipe and multiply by ten I would use 30 grams dry yeast. Is my calculation on the others recipies wrong and I need more instant yeast? Thanks for any help. I think I better go with the bread flour before trying the 00 flour on ten pounds
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hobart 5 Quart Mixer for Sale $200.00 horrocks007 Barter, Trade and Sell 7 06-10-2012 06:40 PM
Frank Sally on Hand Mixing texassourdough Hearth Bread and Flatbread 7 04-17-2012 03:00 PM
From mixing concrete to mixing pizza dough trapper Pompeii Oven Construction 7 08-27-2011 01:27 AM
Mixing Insulating Concrete leemc Wood-Fired Oven and Cooking Videos 17 02-23-2010 05:12 PM
Forno Bravo at 10 Speed Press james Introductions 2 07-28-2006 07:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
© 2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC