Serf

Default Forno Bravo dough problems

Here is the recipe I am using from the Forno Bravo E-books

4 cups Caputo OO flour
1 1/2 C water + 2-3 Tbs
4 teaspoons sea salt
1 packet dry yeast

I am using a baking stone in an oven.

I mix the flour and the water. Wait the 20 minutes for the autolyse process. I add the sea salt and yeast and mix the exact time with my Kitchen Aid mixer.
I let it rise for at least 2 hours. I use a rolling pin to roll out the dough. I am not achieving a chewy, bubbly, or corniche like crust whatsoever. My pizza does not taste bad but it is not characteristic at all of good, chewy pizza crusts. Does anyone have any suggestions as to what I am doing wrong?

Longer autolyse period?
Not using a rolling pin?
Not proofing long enough?

Thanks Jason
Old 06-06-2012, 07:37 PM
Il Pizzaiolo

Thumbs up Re: Forno Bravo dough problems

I'm not an expert on dough, but skip the rolling pin and see if you like it any better.

If you are thinking about building a brick oven, my advice is
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Our One Meter Pompeii Oven album is
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

An album showing our Thermal Breaks is

I try to learn from my mistakes, and from yours when you give me a heads up.
Old 06-24-2012, 06:36 AM
Journeyman

Default Re: Forno Bravo dough problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by jecrab View Post

mix the exact time with my Kitchen Aid mixer.
Thanks Jason
Hi Jason,