#11  
Old 12-03-2012, 07:45 PM
Tscarborough's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ausitn
Posts: 3,109
Default Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

It doesn't crack, and even if it does, it doesn't matter since it is in reality a temporary structure to allow a thin even coating of stucco over the dome.

Note that I am not recommending this as the best way, simply the easiest way.

Best practice is a layer of expanded lath over the blanket which is then filled with the perlcrete and then stuccoed.
Attached Thumbnails
Covering lumps with stucco?-100712genesoven.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-03-2012, 08:25 PM
cobblerdave's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: brisbane australia
Posts: 2,433
Question Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

Gudday
Why all the bother about lumps and bumps. Mine I recon has got a few wrinkles as well....a coat of matt earth coloured paint a bit of wheathering you get a very natural rock like appearance.
The 10 yr old down the road calls it the" fred fintstone house"....but I recon his dad put him up to that so I still feed him pizza anyway

Regards Dave
__________________
Measure twice
Cut once
Fit in position with largest hammer

My Build

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Door

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-04-2012, 12:29 AM
david s's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Townsville, Nth Queensland,Australia
Posts: 4,824
Default Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

you can just keep stringing your wire around and over the dome like a spider web. Every now and again you can give a loose wire two 90 degree bends with the nose of a pair of pliers to keep them reasonably firm. I gave up using chicken wire, or lathe as reinforcing years ago because of the problem of fitting it to a compound curve. Throw in some reinforcing fibres into your stucco mix as well.

Last edited by david s; 12-04-2012 at 12:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-04-2012, 08:12 AM
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 200
Default Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

Quote:
Why all the bother about lumps and bumps.
Principally because my wife doesn't like the look of the lumpy stucco'd ovens she's seen. Also because I was hoping to cover the stucco with a tile mosaic. In any case, I'm less concerned about the lumps from bunched up blanket, as the ridges from overlapping layers.

@david s: I actually just picked up some reinforcing fibers this morning when I went to the brick yard for a flue tile. Do you think I could cover the "valleys" with extra stucco, particularly if I've got a spiderweb of wire over them?
__________________
My build:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-04-2012, 08:29 AM
Tscarborough's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ausitn
Posts: 3,109
Default Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

The problem with having thin and thick areas on stucco (especially large differences) is that they tend to cause cracking right at the edge of the thick portion. However, this type cracking is cured almost 100% by the addition of fibers.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-04-2012, 09:55 AM
david s's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Townsville, Nth Queensland,Australia
Posts: 4,824
Default Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

You could try mixing some vermiculite or perlite 50/50 with mortar and filling the valleys with it prior to your spider web and stucco layer.

Last edited by david s; 12-04-2012 at 10:00 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-04-2012, 12:05 PM
cobblerdave's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: brisbane australia
Posts: 2,433
Cool Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

Gudday
"Principally because my wife doesn't like the look of the lumpy stucco'd ovens "

That fair enough ....happy wife happy life....a wfo is definitely one project that you have to have the wife happy with too

Regards dave
__________________
Measure twice
Cut once
Fit in position with largest hammer

My Build

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Door

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-17-2013, 05:20 PM
Master Builder
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 724
Default Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

Here is what my plan is when i get to that point. Pile layers and layers of insulation blanket, then use flexible/thin rebar like metal, bend it around the dome, then lay down stucco/chicken wire, then apply stucco. In addition i was thinking of laying down foil over the insulation so the moisture from the stucco does not get the insulation wet.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-18-2013, 04:03 AM
david s's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Townsville, Nth Queensland,Australia
Posts: 4,824
Default Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

Quote:
Originally Posted by V-wiz View Post
Here is what my plan In addition i was thinking of laying down foil over the insulation so the moisture from the stucco does not get the insulation wet.
I tried the foil between insulation and stucco on an oven I built a few years ago. I wish I hadn't because it keeps the moisture in. Others have also confirmed this.IMO You are better off applying the stucco straight over the insulation, then wrapping it in cling wrap and leaving it for a week to make it stronger.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-18-2013, 07:23 AM
Master Builder
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 724
Default Re: Covering lumps with stucco?

Quote:
Originally Posted by david s View Post
I tried the foil between insulation and stucco on an oven I built a few years ago. I wish I hadn't because it keeps the moisture in. Others have also confirmed this.IMO You are better off applying the stucco straight over the insulation, then wrapping it in cling wrap and leaving it for a week to make it stronger.
Thanks for the tip, how about if you first dry out the oven then install the foil then the blanket, this way there wont be any moisture left.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breathable stucco render? waynespizzaworld Design Styles, Chimneys and Finish 1 04-22-2012 10:01 AM
Weatherproof Stucco Dome that can be Moved Later?? WaWaZat Getting Started 13 07-06-2009 03:05 PM
stucco over exisisting smooth stucco michelevit Design Styles, Chimneys and Finish 10 04-29-2009 05:27 PM
STUCCO-Part2: How Stucco is Made sarah h Tools, Tips and Techniques 2 06-28-2008 06:12 PM
STUCCO-Part 1: What it is sarah h Tools, Tips and Techniques 0 06-28-2008 02:23 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC