#11  
Old 04-08-2009, 09:29 AM
sksski's Avatar
Serf
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 2
Default Re: Thermocouple help

Hello,

I am in the final stages of the what I call the "Brick" work. I have drilled two holes under the slab into the hearth brick to measure the floor temp, and I plan to drill two holes into the dome brick. There seems to be two types of TCs that can be used, one with a probe and a connector, the other being a probe with a trans joint. Can the cladding cover any of the wiring? Can the cladding cover the trans joint? I am asking to find out how long the probe must be.

Thanks for any input.

Sksski

Last edited by sksski; 04-08-2009 at 02:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-08-2009, 11:27 AM
Dutchoven's Avatar
Master Builder
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 931
Default Re: Thermocouple help

The cladding could cover the wiring but...eventually your thermocouple will burn out so you might want to plan for a way to replace it when that happens...I purchased ours from Thermoworks the makers of the Thermapen...they are very knowledgeable about it and could make some excellent suggestions...ours was a 5 foot long wire and probe and a digital display...somewhere in the neighborhood of $120 plus shipping
Best
Dutch
__________________
"Making the simple complicated is commonplace; making the complicated simple, awesomely simple, that's creativity. " Charles Mingus
"Build at least two brick ovens...one to make all the mistakes on and the other to be just like you dreamed of!" Dutch
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-08-2009, 03:21 PM
sksski's Avatar
Serf
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Irving, TX
Posts: 2
Default Re: Thermocouple help

Thanks,

One more question. When the probe in inserted, should the tip be touching the brick? Or should it have some air between the tip and the drilled hole in the brick?
__________________
SKSSKI
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-08-2009, 09:34 PM
Dutchoven's Avatar
Master Builder
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 931
Default Re: Thermocouple help

Quote:
Originally Posted by sksski View Post
Thanks,

One more question. When the probe in inserted, should the tip be touching the brick? Or should it have some air between the tip and the drilled hole in the brick?
I don't think it matters really...our thermocouple tip was flat so I made it touch the brick
Dutch
__________________
"Making the simple complicated is commonplace; making the complicated simple, awesomely simple, that's creativity. " Charles Mingus
"Build at least two brick ovens...one to make all the mistakes on and the other to be just like you dreamed of!" Dutch
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BenjaMia Bakehouse Project SpringJim Outdoor Kitchen Design 79 07-11-2013 10:55 AM
Thermocouple design for oven maburton Tools, Tips and Techniques 24 08-04-2012 10:24 AM
1, 2 or 4 zone Thermocouple and Pyrometer james Getting Started 3 01-30-2008 08:50 PM
Using thermocouples Versachi Getting Started 7 11-16-2007 05:25 PM
Thermocouples james Getting Started 3 07-15-2006 07:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:50 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC