Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community

Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community (http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/)
-   Getting Started (http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f6/)
-   -   Is this project too big? (http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f6/project-too-big-4621.html)

mnshel 07-23-2008 01:23 PM

Is this project too big?

I have been an outdoor cook for many years and have always thought about an outdoor oven. We just bought a new house with a great back yard and I have been thinking about it again. I have the space and time.

My question is do I have the skills? I am generally very handy, have built a shed, done roofing, interior remodeling etc. I have VERY little experience with masonry. I can see that the steps are well documented with pictures so I have little question that I can follow directions and construct the foundation and the hearth. What concerns me is the actual brick construction of the oven itself. This looks, to me, much more complicated. I am aiming for a relatively low cost project, as opposed to buying a pre-fabricated oven.

Can this be done by someone with basically no masonry experience?

Any and all guidance is appreciated.

dbhansen 07-23-2008 01:50 PM

Re: Is this project too big?

Quote:

Originally Posted by mnshel (Post 37772)
My question is do I have the skills? ... Can this be done by someone with basically no masonry experience?