Go Back   Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community > Pizza Oven Design and Installation > Getting Started

Like Tree39Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #191  
Old 05-11-2013, 01:16 PM
Bec1208's Avatar
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 408
Default Re: 36" build in Tallahassee - AKA Bruce's Folly

Quote:
Originally Posted by deejayoh View Post
Your joints shouldn't have cracks in the mortar like that after the brick is placed. I suspect maybe the brick was bumped after it set separating it from it's neighbor. Once the bond is broken, you really need to reset the brick.

One tip that helped me was getting a jointing tool to go over the joints once they'd set a bit. Seemed to help strengthen the bond.
I broke out the loose bricks (most of them) and reset them over the past few days. 1st pic is before and 2nd after the rebuild. Hopefully show some improvement. Bruce
Attached Thumbnails
36" build in Tallahassee - AKA Bruce's Folly-image_b229470c-226e-457a-a280-9d4a05a0a460.jpg   36" build in Tallahassee - AKA Bruce's Folly-image_35c9b004-c89f-495c-92fd-5a90c1039bd4.jpg  
__________________
Link to my build here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Check out my pictures here:

Selected pictures of the build.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.







To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
“In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they are not.” ― Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old 05-11-2013, 01:52 PM
kbartman's Avatar
Master Builder
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 547
Default Re: 36" build in Tallahassee - AKA Bruce's Folly

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bec1208 View Post
I broke out the loose bricks (most of them) and reset them over the past few days. 1st pic is before and 2nd after the rebuild. Hopefully show some improvement. Bruce
Looking good Bruce......... Your craftsmanship has greatly improved in only one course. Your a Master mason in the making........... Keep up the good work…….

Only one thing I see you might give some consideration. Try to make sure the top edge of each brick inside the oven is as level and consistent as possible. This should allow easier setting of the later courses. I made the horizontal joint on the front edge as small as possible, once the tilt of the bricks began. By tapping of the front edge of brick till it makes contact with the front edge of the brick below, careful not to chip the edges. This should make keeping the courses level and constant easy. Try to work out and inconsistencies of your first courses, pay particular attention to this edge on your next course.
__________________
Respectfully,

KB
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old 05-11-2013, 05:05 PM
Bec1208's Avatar
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 408
Default Re: 36" build in Tallahassee - AKA Bruce's Folly

Quote:
Originally Posted by brickie in oz View Post
Are you still having trouble with the mortar Bruce?
Short answer is yes, but I seem to be able to get it to work. They say you can't be too thin, and that seems the case for this mortar. Anything much more than liquid won't flow through the gaps. If I butter the tops of a few bricks, by the time I' laying the second brick, the surface of the mortar has started to set and won't flow or stick to the bottom of the brick being laid. I have found that if I scrape the excess off the excess mortar and apply new I can get it to work. By the next day, where I have managed to fill the gaps, the bond seems extremely strong. Any additional ideas appreciated.. Bruce
__________________
Link to my build here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Check out my pictures here:

Selected pictures of the build.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.







To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
“In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they are not.” ― Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old 05-11-2013, 05:14 PM
cobblerdave's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: brisbane australia
Posts: 2,494
Default Re: 36" build in Tallahassee - AKA Bruce's Folly

Gudday Bruce
The ply base is conspicuous in its absence in the photo again....it's removial and replacement might have something to do with those bricks dislodging?
It really needs to be left "in situ". If its to big to fit through the dome rntrance you might consider cutting it into smaller pieces and reattaching them together with battens and screws. That way it can be unscrewed at the end and the piece retrieved through the entrance.
Regards dave
__________________
Measure twice
Cut once
Fit in position with largest hammer

My Build

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Door

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #195  
Old 05-11-2013, 05:32 PM
Bec1208's Avatar
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 408
Default Re: 36" build in Tallahassee - AKA Bruce's Folly

Hi Dave,
I didn't use the plybase as I wanted to be able to get to the bottom mortar. I plan to cut it into thirds and tape it together. I also plan to run masking tape around the perimeter as suggested earlier. Bruce
__________________
Link to my build here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Check out my pictures here:

Selected pictures of the build.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.







To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
“In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they are not.” ― Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #196  
Old 05-11-2013, 05:56 PM
cobblerdave's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: brisbane australia
Posts: 2,494
Default Re: 36" build in Tallahassee - AKA Bruce's Folly

Gudday Bruce
Read about Colin's plywood guide with interest! I have seem something like that in the past. A lot simpler, just a 1/2 shape held by hand to check the bricks as they went by memory. Colin has made his to use to set his IT tool which I recon is really ingenious. You might consider even building a 1/2 shape to set your IT.
Could see myself with one as complex as Colin's and having to swap them over all the time, but that's me . Colin's aiming for small mortar joints and I can see that would require more effort so good on him.

Regards dave
__________________
Measure twice
Cut once
Fit in position with largest hammer

My Build

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Door

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 05-11-2013, 06:19 PM
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,053
Default Re: 36" build in Tallahassee - AKA Bruce's Folly

Hi Bruce and Dave

Thanks Dave you flatter me but not its that ingenious. I use the half version too [black cardboard version] to double check, when using the IT. When I get towards the top I will attach pieces at 90 degrees following same shape to assist with the upper courses. The form now folds down in half and may end up with hinges. It is also cut inside the dome shape so I use cardboard as a spacer stapled to the edge aiding removal .

Bruce I thought I would reply to your question re mortar on your thread. I am using refractory high temp cement not premix. I'm using 3.1.1/2 Sand/Ref Cement/fire clay. I was going to use premix but the Refractory company I purchased from said I would be best doing it this way than premix. Plus Premix was very expensive.
__________________
Cheers Colin


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 05-11-2013, 06:36 PM
Bec1208's Avatar
Journeyman
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 408
Default Re: 36" build in Tallahassee - AKA Bruce's Folly

Hi Collin,
I ended up with the premix because I could not find the right lime. Turned out was under my nose.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bec1208 View Post
Reread the High Heat Mortar Primer sticky. Looks like I could have used home brew from the beginning.

The type N masonry cement appears locally available.
__________________
Link to my build here:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Check out my pictures here:

Selected pictures of the build.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.







To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
“In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they are not.” ― Albert Einstein
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 05-11-2013, 06:55 PM
brickie in oz's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Whittlesea
Posts: 3,455
Default Re: 36" build in Tallahassee - AKA Bruce's Folly

I dont have an answer for you Bruce on the mortar issue, if I could feel and see it I might be able to help.
__________________
The English language was invented by people who couldnt spell.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 05-13-2013, 11:54 AM
Wayne73's Avatar
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 123
Default Re: 36" build in Tallahassee - AKA Bruce's Folly

G'day Bruce, I just stumbled onto your thred.
I too had trouble with the refactory mortor, so I started again with the home brew mix and I found it very easy to work with and no cracking.So if you have now found the right lime then maybe you could start again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My 32" oven build has begun OscarA Pompeii Oven Construction 120 01-03-2012 01:56 PM
36" Pompeii-How long to build? mugiber Pompeii Oven Construction 0 09-08-2010 03:13 PM
36" Tall Man's Oven Build KINGRIUS Brick Oven Photos 71 02-03-2010 05:32 PM
Daylight's UK 36" x 19" Pompeii build daylight Brick Oven Photos 11 09-12-2009 04:14 AM
Smaug: A 36" x 16" build. Gromit Getting Started 42 09-03-2009 09:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
© 2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC