Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community

Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community (http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/)
-   Australia (http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f51/)
-   -   From oz. First time user. Please help. (http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f51/oz-first-time-user-please-help-13622.html)

symon 07-24-2010 03:33 PM

From oz. First time user.

Hi there everyone, this is my first time on the forum, so you could say Iím new at this. Iím from Adelaide, South Australia down under.

Iím keen to build a wood fired pizza oven as most of you are or have already done so.

Iíve been researching ovens, DIY kits all different shapes and sizes precast, clay and fire brick??? Iíve decided (I think) to build my own oven sourcing materials locally using med duty fire bricks. So I guess Iím putting my hand up for some help, to find suppliers in oz. As I see there is a wealth of knowledge here, both things that have worked and some that havenít. I have a question on thermal mass how thick is too thick? I was thinking 120 to 130mm or 4.5Ē to 5Ē dome, time you use half brick with render coat, with 75mm or3.5Ē floor, how does that sound? Please help as I just want to get this right the first time.

Regards,

Symon from oz.

cobblerdave 08-04-2010 01:41 PM

Re: From oz. First time user. Please help.

Hi
Im dave. Im building an oven with lighter bricks, 29 silica content and will be adding a 25 mm fireproof cement layer to the outside of this to increase the thermal mass. From what I have been able to find out so far I would not increase the thermal mass much more than this as you would have to increase the heating time ( and Wood ) required to bring the extra mass up to Temp.
The trade of to this would be an oven that would keep it temp for a longer time, I dont need to cook doz of loaves of bread over many hours so it isnt needed.