Go Back   Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community > Regional Forums > Australia

Like Tree12Likes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-28-2013, 04:57 AM
mrchipster's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: house brick for stand, quick quetsion

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrocAu View Post
hi again everyone
got another quick question, I was going to use cement sheet to hold concrete in place while wet. is this what you call Hardibacker? if so then what thickens should I use and considering my base shape would one long plank in centre of both "chambers" with couple of sticks holding it up be enough, assuming that outer edges would rest on bircks?
or should I forget hardy backer and go for particle board and then remove it once done?

TIA
Cement board, hardibacker, tile board, durock, are all similar products, the price difference between 1/4 inch and 1/2 inch is so slight that I used 1/2 inch.

Your base design has a middle support but I would add a few more support points, this stuff may seem strong but it will sag a bit under the load of wet concrete.

I would place another temporary support front to back down the middle and then one in the center of each quarter.

Because of the design of your base, fitting and removing particle board would be more work than logical, the cement board can be left in place and overlap the brick for support and creating its own seal against wet concrete falling out the bottom.

What ever you use for support make sure to use shims so you can remove. The shims make it easier to get the temporary supports out.

Chip

Last edited by mrchipster; 05-28-2013 at 05:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-28-2013, 05:05 AM
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 155
Default Re: house brick for stand, quick quetsion

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrchipster View Post
the cement board can be left in place and overlap the brick for support and creating its own seal against wet concrete falling out the bottom.
thanks for your post, can you clarify for me what you mean by the above?
where is the concrete falling?

btw
rebar, should I use 12mm or 16mm?

concrete should I order normal 20mpa or should I get 30mpa?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-28-2013, 05:24 AM
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 155
Default Re: house brick for stand, quick quetsion

managed to dig out my circular saw and everything else I need so fingers crossed tomorrow all is going to happen with my slab, any extra tips before tomorrow would be most appreciated

as big kev would say "I'm excited !!!!!"
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-28-2013, 05:38 AM
mrchipster's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: house brick for stand, quick quetsion

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrocAu View Post
thanks for your post, can you clarify for me what you mean by the above?
where is the concrete falling?

btw
rebar, should I use 12mm or 16mm?

concrete should I order normal 20mpa or should I get 30mpa?
If you used particle board you would have needed to fit it closely between the bricks of your stand so it could be removed down and out later. The gap between the stand brick and the particle board creates a potential gap that would allow for the concrete to escape through. This is eliminated by using the cement board.

12 mm will be fine, support them in the middle of the slab or just below the middle on an 8 x 8 inch grid wire tied together, keep the ends at least 2 inches from the sides of the slab. And pour 3.5 - 4 inches thick here in the US we use a 2x4 lumber for the form or a 2x 6 if overlap is needed. Real dimensions in inches 1.625 x 3.5 or 1.625 x 5.5.

Standard concrete is just fine. Use gravel mix concrete like used for walkways and driveways not sand mix. High strength concrete is not required.

Chip

Last edited by mrchipster; 05-28-2013 at 05:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-28-2013, 06:18 AM
stonecutter's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: South Carolina,USA
Posts: 1,909
Default Re: house brick for stand, quick quetsion

Don't use Hardie board on exterior applications.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Current WFO build -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


When we build, let us think that we build for ever.
John Ruskin
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-28-2013, 07:09 AM
mrchipster's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: house brick for stand, quick quetsion

Quote:
Originally Posted by stonecutter View Post
Don't use Hardie board on exterior applications.
It is only being used as temporary under slab support of wet concrete. It will not be exposed to the elements, it will not provide any on going structural support, and shouldn't be an issue of any kind as it will just be the top of his wood bin.

The only problem is see in using hardie board in this setting would be if he decided to tile the ceiling of his wood bin and that would be just plain silly.

Get what ever product your builder supply has. I think Bunnings is a common chain in Australia.

Chip
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-28-2013, 07:36 AM
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 155
Default Re: house brick for stand, quick quetsion

Quote:
Originally Posted by stonecutter View Post
Don't use Hardie board on exterior applications.
and now I wont be able to sleep
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-28-2013, 07:43 AM
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,035
Default Re: house brick for stand, quick quetsion

Pick a number between 500 1000 and count backwards by 3 or 7. Works every time have even had clients report it works.
__________________
Cheers Colin


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-28-2013, 07:53 AM
stonecutter's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: South Carolina,USA
Posts: 1,909
Default Re: house brick for stand, quick quetsion

Just use something suited for exterior work like durock and you'll be fine.

The suggestion was made to lay the cement board on the block bond beam, to avoid creating a gap. There is always moisture present when you have any two materials in contact with each other outside..it's called a condensation point. That said, a permanent placement of hardieboard against concrete isn't a good idea. Unless you want something that will swell up and get moldy over time.

It makes no difference to me what gets used, but it's better to have the facts about product limitations before using them.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Current WFO build -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


When we build, let us think that we build for ever.
John Ruskin
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-28-2013, 08:21 AM
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 155
Default Re: house brick for stand, quick quetsion

Quote:
Originally Posted by stonecutter View Post
Just use something suited for exterior work like durock and you'll be fine.

The suggestion was made to lay the cement board on the block bond beam, to avoid creating a gap. There is always moisture present when you have any two materials in contact with each other outside..it's called a condensation point. That said, a permanent placement of hardieboard against concrete isn't a good idea. Unless you want something that will swell up and get moldy over time.

It makes no difference to me what gets used, but it's better to have the facts about product limitations before using them.
thanks for your input stonecutter, not huge fan of mold so now you got me thinking again about this, I do have that opening in the middle so if i'm smart about it I think I can manage with few extra supports get particle boards there instead, I figure that if I have 2 sections at the back then I will be able to get it out once done, is cooking oil safe as lube on particle board? want to make sure I don't have extra trouble getting it off with my limited access space
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pacific Clay Brick Phxdt Getting Started 3 06-19-2012 04:56 PM
So will there be a discourse on tapering bricks? skoolpsyk Tools, Tips and Techniques 8 08-22-2011 06:28 PM
Thoughts on curing a brick oven from a pretentious newbie :) phippsj Newbie Forum 7 11-18-2010 12:46 PM
Fire Brick Confirmation Bandrasco Pompeii Oven Construction 17 10-31-2008 03:55 PM
Leaving Florence House james Introductions 5 07-27-2005 09:56 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
© 2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC