Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community

Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community (http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/)
-   General Building and Construction (http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f39/)
-   -   hardwood flooring project (http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f39/hardwood-flooring-project-3424.html)

christo 02-27-2008 05:25 PM

hardwood flooring project

1 Attachment(s)
Time to rip out the carpet and replace with hardwood. This is my first time installing hardwood flooring.

Found some prefinished white oak that matches the other flooring pretty well. It's solid and 3/4 inch thick. It's got a micro beveled edge so it looks almost like old school hardwood flooring.

Quandy I have is that the bathroom door runs 90 degress to flooring direction. As a woodworker in a previous life - my inclination is to use a piece of flooring to breadboard the edge at the opening. Having the marble tile transition next to the wood looks a bit odd to me.

Anyone have any ideas on what I can or should do here?

Picture below is what I mocked up for the bathroom entrance.

Thanks!!!

Christo

dmun 02-27-2008 05:39 PM

Re: hardwood flooring project

Your door edge treatment looks good. It's actually a good thing that your end grain hits the marble sill - wood shrinks and expands sideways relative to the grain, and my door edge to sill treatment grows into a sizable crack when it's dry in the winter. That's what that quarter round is for at the base of the baseboard, to cover the crack when it appears.

christo 02-27-2008 05:52 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Thanks for the reply, Dave.

Do you think I'm asking for trouble if I lose the breadboard edge as in the picture below?

I don't think I have a any issues with expansion/contraction on the breadboard as its not glued.

From a structural POV - I like the breadboard. From an esthetic sense - I'm on the fence...

Christo

RTflorida 02-27-2008 06:58 PM

Christo,