Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community

Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community (http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/)
-   Chit Chat (http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f30/)
-   -   Up in smoke? (http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f30/up-smoke-4044.html)

PizzaJNKY 05-14-2008 05:05 PM

Up in smoke?

Well, I started my first curing fire today. :D Its been burning for about 10 hours now, and my wife is not happy anymore.:( She said the inside of our house smells like a campground. She said I should have warned her...How the heck was I supposed to know the smoke would go in the house? I've never used a WFO before.

Any one else have this problem? Or solution?

asudavew 05-14-2008 05:17 PM

Re: Up in smoke?

Quote:

Originally Posted by PizzaJNKY (Post 32460)

Any one else have this problem?

No... but I could see it happening.
How bout keeping the windows and doors shut while curing.

Quote:

Originally Posted by PizzaJNKY (Post 32460)
Or solution?

Get rid of the wife.
The oven will cook better, it won't complain, and will be around for years.
:eek:

PizzaJNKY 05-14-2008 05:23 PM

Thanks Dave! Now thats what I call some sound, but funny advice.

asudavew 05-14-2008 05:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PizzaJNKY (Post 32462)
Thanks Dave! Now thats what I call some sound, but funny advice.

don't tell your wife...

and please don't tell mine! ;)

thebadger 05-14-2008 05:57 PM

Pizzajnky

Where's your oven in relation to your house???

What curing strategy areyou using....? Keep detailed records/postings.

Dick

james 05-14-2008 06:13 PM

Try burning really dry wood. It will put out very little smoke -- and it's a lot cheaper than changing wives (or husbands, as the case may be).

Your oven definitely should not smell like a campground!
James

PizzaJNKY 05-14-2008 06:26 PM