#11  
Old 03-09-2010, 04:06 AM
david s's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Townsville, Nth Queensland,Australia
Posts: 4,762
Default Re: temp probe

Actually I used copper for my sheath and only considered this point after fittng it. I now use stainless.
Dave I used to live in Gibney St. and Riversdale Rd Student at Swinburne, You are making me feel nostalgic
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-09-2010, 01:59 PM
crwdtb's Avatar
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: australia
Posts: 124
Default Re: temp probe

Hey David s
believe it or not I used to live in townsville on cook st down near the strand!
many a late beer at the Mad Cow! with reference to the copper sheath does it make any difference to the indicated temp on the dial? where did you situate the probe and how many did you incorporate?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-09-2010, 02:09 PM
crwdtb's Avatar
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: australia
Posts: 124
Default Re: temp probe

nissian im in Vic hawthorn.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-09-2010, 02:15 PM
crwdtb's Avatar
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: australia
Posts: 124
Default Re: temp probe

here is the stand finished! all going to plan so far.
Attached Thumbnails
temp probe-stand.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-09-2010, 10:00 PM
david s's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Townsville, Nth Queensland,Australia
Posts: 4,762
Default Re: temp probe

Dave,
I placed my probe about 1/2 way up the dome. I drilled right through and had the sheath and probe tip about flush with the inside of the dome. The reading was inaccurate at first (too low) until I realised that the probe was touching the sheath. This was corrected when I replaced it so it wasn't touching. Works well now, but you really don't need it. A cheap oven thermometer that you place inside the oven is just as good.
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-09-2010, 10:35 PM
crwdtb's Avatar
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: australia
Posts: 124
Default Re: temp probe

where would I get that do you think? and do you mean build it in the oven the same way you would the thermocouple? could pull one out of the old barby I guess.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-10-2010, 12:29 AM
david s's Avatar
Il Pizzaiolo
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Townsville, Nth Queensland,Australia
Posts: 4,762
Default Re: temp probe

No,
I mean an oven thermometer you can buy from Big W or a kitchenshop. It is a stainless steel thermometer that stands on the oven floor, wherever you want to put it, They read to about 300C and you use it for roasting or baking. You don't really need it for pizza, the white inside is enough indication.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-10-2010, 06:05 AM
crwdtb's Avatar
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: australia
Posts: 124
Default Re: temp probe

thanks heaps I probably will go with that option then I guess, I just really wanted to know temp for roasts
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
consistent hearth temp Salv B Heat Management 8 11-22-2009 05:14 AM
Why do so many restrauants cook at low temp Trichler Newbie Forum 10 12-06-2008 12:17 PM
Optimal floor temp for pizza mark4604 Firing Your Oven 6 11-10-2008 03:24 PM
Where do you measure the temp? DLemma Firing Your Oven 6 09-06-2008 01:51 PM
Instant-read probe thermometer PizzaJNKY Hearth Bread and Flatbread 19 06-08-2008 08:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
2006/10 Forno Bravo, LLC