Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community

Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community (http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/)
-   Artisan Ingredients (http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f19/)
-   -   Spelt (http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f19/spelt-6472.html)

james 04-03-2009 04:40 PM

Spelt

I have a nice bag of stone ground spelt flour, but I've never used spelt before.

Does anyone have any ideas here? Do you use it as you would a denser grain, or like Rye, where you add it for character to a more basic whole wheat sourdough? Or do you treat it more like a wheat flour?

I did an experiment, with 200gr GP, 200gr whole wheat, 100gr rye and 100gr spelt -- with 350gr of water. But it's a stab in the dark. It's cooling now, so I'll let you know what happens.

Any input would be appreciated.
James

mfiore 04-03-2009 05:33 PM

Re: Spelt

I have a bag, too, that I saw at the health food store. Have no idea what to do with it. It's getting pushed further back in the pantry.

dmun 04-03-2009 06:29 PM

It's sprouted wheat, right? For the gluten adverse?

james 04-03-2009 07:04 PM

I know nothing, but I just Wiki'd. It looks like a relative to our friend common wheat. Spelt often shows up as a good alternative for wheat (gluten?) sensitive diets. Trader Joe's has a good supply of Spelt bread.

James

Spelt (Triticum spelta) is a hexaploid species of wheat. Spelt was an important staple in parts of Europe from the Bronze Age to medieval times; it now survives as a relict crop in Central Europe and has found a new market as a health food. Spelt is sometimes considered a subspecies of the closely related species common wheat (T. aestivum), in which case its botanical name is considered to be Triticum aestivum subsp. spelta.

dchamp 04-04-2009 05:38 AM

Good morning,
Just recently saw this.
If I can find some spelt locally will give it a try in my WFO.
David

Spelt Bread Recipe ? Bread Making Videos

Frances 04-04-2009 05:55 AM