Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community

Forno Bravo Forum: The Wood-Fired Oven Community (http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/)
-   Forum Guidelines (http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f14/)
-   -   School oven (http://www.fornobravo.com/forum/f14/school-oven-19832.html)

Silvia 08-24-2013 11:32 AM

School oven

Does anyone have experience with having one for a school setting? My son goes to a nature-based school program with an outdoor classroom. If anyone does have any experience, where there special considerations because of any fire codes or safety concerns?

david s 08-30-2013 05:57 PM

Re: School oven

Normal fire code would apply. I work in a school and legally we can't have any ceramic fibre as children are more susceptible. On a practical level they are probably more at risk than adults from emissions from the smoke. Many children are also dangerous risk takers and untrustworthy and those characteristics combined with fire are a potent combination. A cob oven would be fun and educational to build and use.

Silvia 08-31-2013 09:25 AM

Thank you! I will also look into cob ovens...and solar ovens.

michelevit 10-16-2013 04:59 PM

Is the ceramic blanket really a risk? Its not like its exposed to the elements. Its buried under pearlite and stucco.

Maybe mitigate all risk and just show a video of a pizza oven instead. Ha Ha.

david s 10-16-2013 05:31 PM

In schools in our State, exposed ceramic fibre is not allowed because it is considered a potential risk. Trapped between the refractory and the outer shell or enclosure would not be classed as exposed. If children were involved in its application that would be considered exposure.The rules in your area may be different.

michelevit 10-16-2013 08:47 PM

So ceramic blanket OK in a finished oven in a school?

david s 10-16-2013 10:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by david s (Post 163733)